Drupal 8 comes with various automated testing options to choose from. Most of those are part of core testing framework. And the enriched functionalities and UI is provided by either the new testing framework PHPUnit, or the deprecated testing module Simpletest. Testing can be done in different layers in order to confirm the quality and reaction of code on edge cases.

  1. Unit tests
  2. Kernel tests
  3. Functional tests

It is also possible to use external framework like behat with scenarios in gherkin syntax. Read more about different types of testing in core here.

Converting D7 SimpleTests to Drupal 8

Some notes on converting Drupal 7 SimpleTest-based tests to Drupal 8.

Simpletest Class, File, and Namespace structure

In Drupal 8, Simpletest tests have to have a specific namespace, file, and class structure in order to be recognized by the testing

Types of tests in Drupal 8

Unit, Kernel, Browser and Javascript tests. What are they?

Guide maintainers