When I update the workflow state of a node it always changes the revision timestamp to the user changing the the workflow and the time the workflow change. Is there any way to have workflow not update the revision history timestamp?

Comments

hs2323’s picture

Please note: I am using Triggers to publish pending revisions when changing workflow states (and rules/triggers for unpublishing nodes).

texas_tater’s picture

Same issue for us, but an interesting twist. Our users can invoke Workflow from one of two places: on the Edit screen or on the Workflow screen. Oddly, this issue of "original" revision timestamp change only appears to occur when made from the WF screen (ie, no new revision created). I can't recreate issue if I invoke WF from Edit screen, where both a new revision is created & submitted to WF by hitting the Save button. The whole thing seems odd to me, but with this per-screen-distinction, it's even more confusing.

Ironically, the "WF History" log, which resides on the pesky WF screen that's causing the issue, maintains its integrity by truly reflecting the original node creation date...which is what should be matched by looking @ the original Revision date/timestamp.

Very hopeful to have a fix for this, as we leverage Revisioning, WF, and Triggered Rules in all of our efforts.

Bastlynn’s picture

Status: Active » Closed (won't fix)

Workflow transitions do actually call node_save so the behavior is legitimate and other sites are using them to keep track of the changes and trigger rules and actions. So we're not really in a spot to change that behavior this late in the game.

What you're asking for would be best served by an additional module to change workflow's behavior.