This bug is in the administrative interface to manage the content of panel pages.

By using the "own display" checkboxes when creating a context, I can create several different "context tabs" in the Content tab of the administrative interface. Editing content on the "Default" context tab sometimes affects the contents of other context tabs, which is unexpected and probably a bug.

Steps to reproduce:
1. Create a panel page
2. Name it and give it a path with one argument. Go on to the next screen.
3. Add "node ID" as an argument. When configuring the argument, checkmark Page and Story under "Node type" and "Own display". Save.
4. Go to the "Content" tab
5. You will see three context tabs: "Default", "Node 1 Page", and "Node 1 Story".
6. Add some custom content to "Default". Save. Note that the content is now on "Node 1 Page" and "Node 1 Story".
7. Delete the content. Save. Note that the content has disappeared from "Node 1 Page" and "Node 1 Story".

This bug caused me to lose quite a bit of work. I added some content under "Default", observed that it was under another context, and then deleted it from "Default" because I only wanted it in the other context. To my dismay, deleting the content in one context tab deleted it from all the other context tabs too, with no warning.

If this is a "feature" and not a bug, the interface should warn the user that deleting one item may delete many others.

Comments

merlinofchaos’s picture

I'm not sure your content was actually deleted.

The way it works is that if you have multiple, alternate displays, and you have not yet gone and made changes to one of these alternate displays, it uses the default.

Now, the issue I believe you ran into is this: You went and looked at one of the alternates, but didn't save it.

However, had you gone back and added more content to the default, your other display would have gotten it too.

Perhaps a warning on these pages that the display you're using is currently pulling from the default display and will do so until it is saved is best; it hadn't occurred to me that something like what you did might happen. I'll have to ponder this one. It's a complicated scenario.

esmerel’s picture

Status: Active » Closed (won't fix)

No fixes are going to get committed to the 2.x line