Hi,

I cannot figure out, neither from docs, nor from code, what active updating is doing. I understand there is some connection to retroactive updating (which I am familiar with), but thats about it.

Can you give an example?

Comments

digi24’s picture

Status: Active » Closed (fixed)

Ok, I think I understand now. Retroactive is executed manually, active update is something that happens after something like node save automatically.

donquixote’s picture

Category: support » feature
Status: Closed (fixed) » Active

I think the documentation text in the module needs to be improved to explain the difference.
active: run each time a node is saved.
retroactive: run now.
correct?

j0nathan’s picture

Hi,
I think #2 is right, but as you say, documentation may need better clarification.

deciphered’s picture

#1 & #2 are correct.

#2 & #3 are also correct in stating documentation needs expanding.

Tagging for FileField Paths 2.x which will have greatly improved documentation, as well as a third updating option (Retroactive on Cron).

Cheers,
Deciphered.

deciphered’s picture

Issue tags: +FileField Paths 2.x

Forgot to tag :(

jrearick’s picture

if #2 and #3 are correct then, is there a reason anyone would need to do both Retroactive AND Active updating at the same time? Right now, you can submit the form with both checked. Perhaps radio buttons:

O Do not move and rename uploaded files (default)
O Move and rename uploaded files files now
O Move and rename uploaded files on node edits
Warning: Moving and renaming files should be used with extreme caution.

sixelats’s picture

How I understand the difference:

Retroactive: update previous nodes to match current configuration this one time only (as you can see it won't be checked next time you edit the field settings).

Active: always update nodes to match current configuration. This means for example if you include the node title in the file path and the node title changes in a future node edit so will the path.

So, the 4 choices are:
Only retroactive checked: update previous nodes now but don't update any nodes which are edited in the future
Both checked: update previous node and keep updating node changes in the future
Both unchecked: leave previous nodes as they are and use the current configuration only for new nodes i.e. don't update any nodes (old or new) if they are edited in the future.
Only active: don't update old nodes now but update new AND old nodes if they change in the future.

P.S.
I know this issue is more than 6 months old but as I came here trying to understand the difference so might others.

hass’s picture

Version: 6.x-1.x-dev » 7.x-1.x-dev
Component: Documentation » User interface
Priority: Normal » Major

Uh 2 years later and the text is still not fixed?

hass’s picture

deciphered’s picture

Status: Active » Closed (duplicate)

Marking as Duplicate as the other issue (by hass) has a patch.

postscripter’s picture

Issue summary: View changes

I like #6 texts. Much easier to understand.

deciphered’s picture

@postscripter,

This issue is closed and has been so for 4 years.

I've you'd like to open a new issue, reference this issue and supply a patch, that would be fine, however take into account that #6 isn't an accurate representation of the functionality or the behaviour of how one might use the module.