- User A creates a new post in Group A and sets the visibility of the post to “Post privately to all trusted contacts”.
- User B is a member of Group A but not a trusted contact of User A and can see the Private post.
- User C is not a member of Group A and can’t see the Private post but can see Public posts to Group A.
- User C joins Group A and can now see the Private post even though they are not a trusted contact.

My thought is that if you select the visibility option of “Post privately to all trusted contacts” only users that you have selected as trusted contacts should be able to see these posts, not all members of a Group that the post was made in.

Comments

ezra-g’s picture

Status: Active » Postponed (maintainer needs more info)

User A creates a new post in Group A and sets the visibility of the post to “Post privately to all trusted contacts”.

It should be impossible within Commons to save a post both to a group and to one's trusted contacts. Is there somewhere in the UI where you're able to do this? Does this happen with the latest official release of Commons?

dkendrickmbll’s picture

Status: Postponed (maintainer needs more info) » Closed (cannot reproduce)

I'm unable to reproduce this issue. Thanks for the earlier response!