Problem/Motivation

Thx for the great work!

I can't understand the difference between the described features Retroactive updates versus Active updating, especially what the term 'active' here means.

  • Retroactive updates - rename and/or move previously uploaded files.
  • Active updating - actively rename and/or move previously uploaded files.

Proposed resolution

Thank you in advance for a clarification and for eventual updating of the features description on the project page.

Command icon Show commands

Start within a Git clone of the project using the version control instructions.

Or, if you do not have SSH keys set up on git.drupalcode.org:

Comments

marco.b created an issue. See original summary.

tklawsuc’s picture

Although this is an old post, I came across it having the same question. Since I couldn't find the answer, I did a trial with both options. "Retroactive" will run through all the nodes and update the paths right after saving the field. "Active updating" will only update the path when the node is saved. So use retroactive if you want to update all paths immediately. Otherwise use "Active updating" for a more manual process where you have to update/save each node.

solideogloria’s picture

Title: Understand the difference between Retroactive updates versus Active updating » Document the difference between Retroactive updates versus Active updating
Version: 8.x-1.0-beta5 » 8.x-1.x-dev
Category: Support request » Task

The above description is correct. I agree that it should be made clearer in the UI.

If you select "retroactive", the setting only applies on save (causing the updates to run). After the operation completes, and refreshing the page, the option won't be selected anymore. This is the correct behavior.

megachriz made their first commit to this issue’s fork.

megachriz’s picture

Status: Active » Needs review

Here is my proposal for the field descriptions:


Retroactive update

Move and rename previously uploaded files. After saving the field settings, the paths of all previously uploaded files will be updated immediately. This will only occur once. So after the operation is done, this option will be disabled again.
Warning: This feature should only be used on developmental servers or with extreme caution.

Active updating

Actively move and rename previously uploaded files as required. If necessary, the paths of previously uploaded files are updated each time the entity they belong to gets saved.
Warning: This feature should only be used on developmental servers or with extreme caution.


marco.b’s picture

thx megachriz - your proposal for the field descriptions in #6 makes it clear to me.

voleger made their first commit to this issue’s fork.

  • voleger committed 6cd90fd3 on 8.x-1.x authored by megachriz
    Issue #3258865 by megachriz, marco.b, tklawsuc, solideogloria: Document...
voleger’s picture

Status: Needs review » Fixed

Thanks

Status: Fixed » Closed (fixed)

Automatically closed - issue fixed for 2 weeks with no activity.