Entity Connect suffers from 1 serious issue: it resets whatever add / edit screens have been filled-in up to the point of clicking "Cancel" in the Entity Connect-instance add / edit screens.

Has this been fixed / corrected?

Let's say I'm creating a new page... I fill in various fields and then I come to an Entity Connect field. I click on add, fill in a few fields of that screen but then realize that I don't really need nodes associated with the Entity Connect field... So I press "Cancel," assuming that I'll be taken back to the original add / edit screen only to find that I've instead been taken to a new add / edit screen, the fields of which I have to fill-in again.

Maybe I'm crazy but shouldn't the original fields still be filled-in? If so, will this ever be fixed?

(Sorry if this has already been covered but if there isn't an expected fix anytime soon, are there other modules that support that kind of behavior?)

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Wolf_22

Comments

Wolf_22 created an issue. See original summary.

jygastaud’s picture

Status: Active » Postponed (maintainer needs more info)

Hi,

You're right, every fields previously completed should be still filled when you come back to the original form.

I try to reproduce your issue on a fresh install with the article content type where I added 2 ER fields, with 7.x-1.x, 7.x-1.0-rc5 and 7.x-2.x branches.
For the 3 branches, I sadly wasn't able to reproduce your issue with Cancel button.
When I came back to the original form, both my title and body field still contain the previously added value.

The only thing I can think about is that maybe there is something in your configuration that "clear" the form cache to soon.

At the moment, I will mark that issue as "need more information" to let you try to provide me some more details about your config and try to find the issue.
If I can reproduce it, I will be happy to fix it asap.

Jean-Yves

wolf_22’s picture

Thanks for the follow-up, Jean-Yves. I think I'm getting closer to understanding what's causing this but you might want to change the title for now because what I'm about to explain changes the context of this support request (I'm still trying to nail down the situation about the form being reset, but I have a different situation now that I think is easier to be replicated)...

Using your example, let's say you use Entity Connect to not only allow for the inline creation of various content types, but also, users... If you fill out the original page with content and then get to one of the Entity Connect fields to try and create a user, but then cancel out of the user creation screen, the user create process takes you back to the admin/people page.

So that's one use case that I think could use some attention / testing. I realize it's drastically different from my original claim about the form being completely reset and I apologize for that miscommunication on my behalf. I do still seem to remember a condition where the form gets erased, however, and I'll continue to try and nail down what that condition is.

But in the meantime, can you verify on your end the issue with the user creation attempt situation?:

1.) Add an Entity Reference field to a content type that references users, making sure Entity Connect is implemented into it.

2.) Fill out the form on the first (original) page.

3.) When you get to the Entity Connect field that references users, click the icon to add a user. Once you get to the user create screen, click the "Cancel" button.

You'll be taken to the incorrect location (i.e. - admin/people) instead of the original page / form. I think the expected behavior would be to take the editor / admin back to the original page / form, yes?

Again, sincerest apologies about being dumb with this ticket. I know there was a situation where the form was reset but I'm still nailing down the condition for it. Once I know what that is, I'll make a new ticket with a clearer, repeatable set of conditions but for now, is there any way we can make the cancelling of the user creation return the user back to the original page / form?--I think it's more about a redirect than it is anything being cleared because when you press the browser's back button, you can see that the original form content still persists... (Or so it seems.)

jygastaud’s picture

Title: Pressing "Cancel" eliminates everything up to that point...? » Bypass admin/people page when pressing "Cancel" on user reference
Version: 7.x-1.0-rc5 » 7.x-2.x-dev
Category: Bug report » Feature request
Priority: Major » Normal
Status: Postponed (maintainer needs more info) » Active

Hi,

I can see your trouble when pressing cancel on user reference but it is not a bug because the admin/people page as also the cancel button which once clicked return well to the original form.

I agree that is weird.
It's not really a bug but the user experience could be optimized on that.

However after a quick look I can really find what cause that behavior. I thought about something in core which interact badly with entity connect.

I Will try to look at that deeper.

zietbukuel’s picture

Would be really nice if this gets fixed, the UX is bad if the user has to click a cancel button twice to go back. Thanks.

astonvictor’s picture

Status: Active » Closed (outdated)

D7 reached its EOL back in January 2025, and there is no active release for D7 for this module anymore.
Development or support is not planned for D7. All D7-related issues are marked as outdated in a bunch.

Now that this issue is closed, please review the contribution record.

As a contributor, attribute any organization that helped you, or if you volunteered your own time.

Maintainers, please credit people who helped resolve this issue.