Problem/Motivation
When deleting a user and re-assigning, comments that they have authored are deleted. I assumed that they would be either re-assigned to the selected user during the deletion or at least left to say "Anonymous".
Steps to reproduce
- Create two users
- Enable comments for a content type
- Comment on a node as each user.
- Delete one user and re-assign their content to another user.
- Comment on the node from the deleted user will be gone
As a contrast, choosing to delete the user and assign their content to Anonymous DOES leave the comment in place and should show "Anonymous (Unverified)" as the author of the comment.
Proposed resolution
None as of yet. I just needed to mention this as it ended up destroying some data that I wasn't expecting to lose.
I assigned another potentially related issue but I'm not certain that they are related.
Remaining tasks
User interface changes
API changes
Data model changes
| Comment | File | Size | Author |
|---|---|---|---|
| #4 | 3327675-fix-comment-deletion.patch | 6.5 KB | berramou |
Comments
Comment #2
berramou commentedThank you @jimmynash for your feedback / report.
I'm working on it.
Comment #4
berramou commentedI attach this patch if you could help testing.
thank you
Comment #5
berramou commentedComment #6
berramou commentedComment #7
jimmynash commentedThank you @berramou!
Comment #8
berramou commentedYou are welcome @jimmynash thanks again for your report.