Change record status: 
Introduced in branch: 
8.x
Introduced in version: 
8.x-3.0
Description: 

In the module's settings there is an option to "Reevaluate roles every time the user logs in". The description explicitly states "NOTE: This means users could lose any roles that have been assigned manually in Drupal.".

Before this change, even if this option was selected, roles were never removed. This functionality was actually not implemented at all.

After this change, if this option is selected, roles will be removed if they are no longer mapped to the user. Administrators using simplesamlphp_auth should verify that role assignment for their users is continuing to operate as expected after this update.

Impacts: 
Site builders, administrators, editors