The "Reset to defaults" label is unclear about what it will actually do, but I don't have a qualitatively better suggestion for the label.

The other problem is that this button is potentially a powerful command, with no confirmation step. I would suggest a confirmation step similar to the one you see when you try to delete a node (screenshot: http://snpr.cm/Cf8Yux.png). This would also allow a more detailed description of what this command does, and would mostly resolve the button label issue.

Comments

merlinofchaos’s picture

Category: feature » task

I agree with this. Marking as a task.

eric__’s picture

I could be misreading this entirely, but having just spent several hours figuring out why what I expected was not happening, I would like to contribute my two cents. It's not clear that "Reset to defaults" actually saves the resulting state.

So after clicking "Reset to defaults" I (only somewhat reasonably for sure) clicked "Save" because saving is a key action in page manager with which I was farmiliar. The problem then being that (from the README): "Once this is done [clicking "Save"], the default choice will no longer be associated with the panel and a choice can no longer be made." Of course it took re-reading the README and following it to the T to find my mistake.

While the README is quite clear, it does not say (and probably shouldn't say) "don't click 'Save' after clicking 'Reset to defaults'". But familiarity with similar functions can cover a lot more of the things that readmes just can't cover. Which is why it can be perfectly reasonable to the user to do the wrong thing.

It seems to me that taking a step back and making the terminology appear more consistant with page manager would mitigate user confusion between button text, description, and farmiliarity with page manager.

I'm pretty sure this isn't quite optimal, but perhaps "Reset to Defaults and Save" combined with "Save Custom Panel" could be a more appropriate this would more closely follows the convention in page manager and would be more specific. Of course, there's no save going on for the reset, but I think this would clear up confusion for those users coming from page manager.

Eric

Ravenight’s picture

You just saved me hours of trying to figure out how to make a node revert to using the default page instead of the overridden full content page.

I agree the documentation and or workflow of resetting this should be updated. Just altering the "save" buttons text to "Save and Override" would be sufficient to tell the admin if that particular node was using the override or not.

Crell’s picture

I am running into this as well. In my case, I was able to figure out what "Reset to default" meant, but there's no dsm() message after clicking it so it's not clear that anything has happened other than a page reload. A separate confirmation page would be even better, since we are talking about a non-small destructive operation.

I know, not adding anything new here, more just a +1 subscribe post. :-)

ericmulder1980’s picture

So glad i discovered this post. Following.

damienmckenna’s picture

Version: 7.x-2.x-dev » 7.x-3.x-dev

The 7.x-2.x and 7.x-3.x codebases currently include a message when the defaults are removed, this has been in place since September 28th, 2011. If the message isn't displaying then we have another problem.

ericmulder1980’s picture

Ok, just to make sure that i'm following the proper steps here. I'm using the Panopoly distribution which uses Panelizer 7.x-3.0-rc1.

  1. Installed Panopoly
  2. Created new content type and configured the "Panelize" option
  3. Created a default configuration for this content type at /admin/config/content/panelizer
  4. Created a new node and altered the layout/pane configuration
  5. Confirmed that the panelizer status for my view mode is overridden at node/8/panelizer
  6. Clicked "settings" and then "Reset to defaults"
  7. The reset is executed but no message is shown
samhassell’s picture

I'm using 3.0-rc1. The Reset to Default button does nothing until i click Save, which is odd because it is counter to what is being reported here. I'm not seeing any message after clicking the reset button, only a page load.

As an aside, I think this button would be more useful as a link in the Operations section of the Overview page, so you can see the Status change from custom to default.

*edit* nevermind, i was using entitycache.

merlinofchaos’s picture

I agree, and it's been on my TODO list to remove that button and recreate it as a link on the overview page, with a confirmation step.

merlinofchaos’s picture

Status: Active » Fixed

Okay, I committed and pushed a significant fix to this functionality.

merlinofchaos’s picture

Status: Fixed » Closed (fixed)

Automatically closed -- issue fixed for 2 weeks with no activity.