I'm using 7.x-2.0-beta1+24-dev. I just happened to notice that when content is part of a group then group members can view it even if it is unpublished.
I have a node that is part of a group. If I log in as a test user with group access rights I can see nodes that are unpublished. If I edit the node and remove it from the group then the test user can no longer view the node. If I add the node back to the group then the test user can see it again. Is this normal? I don't think a user should be able to view unpublished content just because he is a member of the group the content belongs to.
In Drupal permissions I have View own unpublished content on for everybody but Anon.