I really feel stupid. I am quite new in drupal (i use drupal 8). I created a new content type with a lot of files. Also i created a new template for the content type.

Now i want to display several fields. That works:
Example: {{ content.field_shops }}

But i also want to add some html, so i wanted to check if there is something in content.field_shops and only let it be displayed if it is like that.

So i tried:
{% if content.field_shops %}{{ content.field_shops }}
{% endif %}

But it does not work ;-(

I also tried with "is empty", "ez_is_field_empty" and so on.

Do you have any idea how to check if a field contains data and only display it when it has any content.

Comments

richmaniac’s picture

This also does not work:
{% if content.field_land is not empty %}Land: {{ content.field_land }}
{% endif %}

It will always be shown ... anyway if it is filled or not ;-(

Jeff Burnz’s picture

Coule of ways...

Generally I'd say you have to render the field to know if it's empty.

{% set field_image = content.field_image|render %}
  {% if field_image %}
    <div class="field-image-wrapper">{{ field_image }}</div>
  {% endif %}
  {% if content.field_image|render is not empty %}
    <div class="field-image-wrapper">{{ content.field_image }}</div>
  {% endif %}
richmaniac’s picture

Thanx for your answer. Are you really shure? Isn`t it an object? Don't you think the data is in the object bevore rendering?
Also ... you gave me an example for an image field ... is it the same with a text field?

Jeff Burnz’s picture

Yes, see this issue https://www.drupal.org/node/953034 only 195 comments to read through :)

The bottom line is, yes you can check for emptiness if you know what to check for - I am giving you a generic answer that should always work and does no harm to your site.

All fields are the same, pretty much.

Jeff Burnz’s picture