I'm new to Drupal, and have been struggling to figure out how to remove the title field/link from comments in Drupal 7. I'd like to completely remove the option to create or display it. Any help would be appreciated. I think I've exhausted searches on Bing and Google. :)

Comments

spurrdog’s picture

Hi,

Not sure if this is exactly the same in 7.x but in drupal 6 just edit the Content Type by going to admin/content management/content types. Select the content type you want to change ie. Page. You will see under Comment Settings there is an option to disable subject field.

Maung Maung’s picture

In Drupal 7, the comment title setting is under "admin/structure/types/manage/[CONTENT TYPE]/edit" -> "COMMENT SETTINGS" region.
You can check/uncheck the "Allow comment title" for that content type.

Change the [CONTENT TYPE] for your target content type.
Hope this help for you.

89121’s picture

I have this option disabled. It disables the ability to create a comment title, yet a default title is still displayed consisting of the first few words of the comment.

heystswede’s picture

You need to remove some lines of code from your comment.tpl.php file which is located at: [your_site]\themes\[your_theme]\templates\comment.tpl.php

remove or block this lines:

<?php print render($title_prefix); ?>
<h3<?php print $title_attributes; ?>><?php print $title; ?></h3>
<?php print render($title_suffix); ?>

This works for me as far as I'm using bartik, for other themes could be different.

89121’s picture

It does not appear that this will work with my base theme (basic).

I removed the block displaying formatting options using the following code:

<?php hide($content['comments']['comment_form']['comment_body']['und']['0']['format']); ?>
<?php print render($content['comments']); ?>

I was thinking there would be a similar method of suppressing the output of the comment title. I just have not been able to determine how I can find the correct elements or syntax.

Nico7’s picture