I'm currently in charge of updating a companies existing website. However, I am experiencing a few problems when attempting to update the website. These problems are:

1. The website is extremely outdated and running Drupal 6.34 and I'm unsure how to update this
  2. I'm unsure as to where the previous developer stored the files for the website and how to access them in order to back them up
  3. I'm unsure as to where the database is stored 

Somebody please help as I have little to no prior Drupal experience. Thanks!

Comments

VM’s picture

1. I'm unsure as to where the previous developer stored the files for the website and how to access them in order to back them up
  2. I'm unsure as to where the database is stored

The above need to be dealt with first and you need to figure out where the site is hosted. utilize the host login and view the hosting admin panel. None of this is inside Drupal.

The site in question has likely been hacked and had backdoors inserted in it as it has been in an insecure state for a significant amount of time. I also imagine that if core has been left unmaintained so has the contributed modules in use. As such, updating to the lastest version of Drupal 6 isn't prudent its end of life was over two years ago. At minimum the site would need to be cleaned and then upgraded to a minimum of Drupal 7. In my opinion, you are looking at a full rebuild.

Steven.Schwartz’s picture

The host is GoDaddy. First, how can I check to see if the website has been Hacked? Second, how would I go about completely wiping the site clean?

VM’s picture

hacked - any users in the site that are suspicious particularly in the administration role? any files in the file system that don't belong?  Any suspicious javascript being run in files or in the database?

wiping site - login to go daddy delete database and delete all files/folders.