Apologies if this is a common thread but i have looked around the site and the web and i cant find a definitive set of notes on how to setup a one to many relationship between two nodes ( content types ) i have set up .
I ve seen a lot of questions , a lot of abstract answers , some inappropriate videos on vimeo ... a lot of modules to install but little or no guidance on how to use them .
I am quite new to drupal and would appreciate being pointed to a straight-forward guide on how to achieve what looks like a standard process

thanks in advance

Comments

John Pitcairn’s picture

At its simplest, use entityreference module. Add an entityreference field to the "one" content type, set to allow multiple values.

gjlook’s picture

thanks for that
i will have a go
and theres documentation with this module as well

i'll see if this helps

gjlook’s picture

hi , thanks for the info

i have looked at entityreference . Ive added an entry reference field and played around with adding client history from a client page and tried attaching a view to display client history for that one client but im basically clicking fields making educated guesses and getting nowhere ....

isn't there just a simple set of tutorials that tell me how to :

prepare my client node/entity/content page and my client history node/entity/content page to link to each other .

(there will be multiple client history records for every client)

then tell me how to set a relationship to each other

then tell me how to open the client page and add a new client history record from that page

then view client history from the client page

or another scenario :

setup a customer and add the products the customer buys and view those products from the customers page.

i'm really looking for a step-by-step guide / s

John Pitcairn’s picture

Everybody's implementation requirements tend to be different, which is why you won't see many tutorials.