Please I am new to drupal. I wish to disable the 'add to cart' & 'add to wish list' buttons for all anonymous users but this would be reactivated on registering or login. On clicking either of these buttons prio to login, a dialog box would popup (not the drupal error string) saying 'login or new account required'. These obviously would returned to normal on login. An ideas or existing modules? Thanks.

Comments

bwv’s picture

Have you looked at the permissions (user settings/permission) for the ubercart module, to see if there is the possibility to disable permission for anonymous users to purchase products, even while they can still view them?

azuokeke’s picture

Thanks for your comments but I have check ubercart settings - the closest thing that can be done from the cart is the ensure anonymous checkouts which is not exactly what I want. I have found a module uc_disable_product which enables the 'add to cart' & 'wish list' buttons to be optionally disabled but this hides the buttons completely. What I would prefer is still see the buttons but on clicking either of them, a popup message would be shown to the user to register or login first. Even if the buttons are hidden, another button would still be shown that on clicking by the user to buy the product would still be shown the same message.

bwv’s picture

I wish I could help you -- it sounds like you need some javascript for the popup.

From my own experience, I have found that potential customers are -- generally speaking -- put off from purchasing something online if they have to go through the registration process first. Its the whole concept of instant gratification, which it seems to me the internet has certainly promoted.

Anyway, good luck.

azuokeke’s picture

Thanks for your comments. Would look more into a work around.

udig’s picture