Hello all.

I am new to Drupal and now a little bit swamped by all the functions.
I searched for a tutorial to setup an example website, but didn't find any.

Could you help me, please?

I want to know,
how to create a correct/clean/useful menu structure.

The website should have a topnavigation (header) and a submenu (sidebar).
The links in the topnavigation are the categories (like "Home", "Sports", "Garden", "Contact", ...).

The submenu depends on the categorie. So, if you choose "Sports", a submenu shall appear,
with links to nodes like "Football", "Swimming", etc.

What's the best way to put into practice?

First create a vocabulary? Or a block/menu? (need to create for each submenu a new block?)
Shall I use the primary/secondy links?
How to realize the depending submenu?

Need a little guide, please.

Comments

phnad@drupalcenter.de’s picture

The navigation / menu structure shall look like this (fictive names):

• Home
    • Tour
    • About
  • Sports
    • national
    • international
  • Garden
    • lorem
    • ipsum
    • dolor
    • sit amet
    • consectetur
    • adipisici
  • Games
    • eiusmod
    • tempor incidunt

Home, Sports, Garden and Games shall appear in the topnavigation.
Tour and About shall appear in the sidemenu, if you choosed Home;
and so on.

need help :|
or a link to a guide

... please, anyone?

Drupalace-1’s picture

phnad, sorry that no one is answering so far...

I think your desired menu structure is not hard to make. A few thoughts:

1) From the admin menu settings, you should be able to easily see how you can add menu items to the primary menu, and then add sub-menu items underneath a given menu item, right? I think you're okay there, but speak up if not.