I'm a PHP and CSS novice, trying to tweak a 5.1 install using the Zen theme.

I have two questions, if anyone is inclined to help.

1. I'd like to use the service_links module, but I'm having problems understanding the installation instructions.

From the README:

Include service links in your theme:
   -----------------------------------
   In the included template.php file there are an example how to insert
   the service links in to a PHPTemplate theme. Remember to place the
   template.php file in the folder of your theme.

Zen includes a template.php file in the theme folder already, so I can't just overwrite with the service_links version. And I've tried inserting selected text from the service_links template.php into the zen template.php, but I'm not having any luck. Any guidance as to exactly how I should move forward with installation is greatly appreciated.

2. The default "posted by..." information for the Zen theme includes the date of content creation, but not a timestamp. For example, on a blog-entry or comment, it reads: "Posted February 15th, 2007 by..."

How can I modify that to include a timestamp as well, so that it will read "Posted February 15th, 2007 at 10:14:00 AM by..."?

I've looked in node.tpl.php, and I've tried to tweak this line:

<?php if ($submitted): ?>
    <span class="submitted"><?php print t('Posted ') . format_date($node->created, 'custom', "F jS, Y") . t(' by ') . theme('username', $node); ?></span> 
  <?php endif; ?>

I had no luck tweaking that.

I've also looked in comment.tpl.php and found this line:

<?php print t('On ') . format_date($comment->timestamp, 'custom', 'F jS, Y'); ?> <?php print theme('username', $comment) . t(' says:'); ?>

I've modified both of those calls, but I've not been able to produce any changes whatsoever. I've also played with the "Display post information on..." settings under Adminiser --> Themes --> Global Settings and not had any success with that, either.