Hi there,

I'm new to drupal, although I have played around with previous versions in the past. Anyway, I've been reading about the public files vs. private files issue. My question relates to downloadable files that we would want to sell. Would setting the files to private be a way where we could control downloads of purchased mp3's for example?

Not sure if I am explaining this right, but what we want is to have some files on the server for purchase, mp3s, pdfs whatever. After purchase (probably via paypal store/functionality) we want to send them a temporary link where they can download the file.

Is this best done with some other process entirely, or would setting files to private be one way of restricting downloads? I suppose the problem would be expiring users/accounts after they download, etc. So they cannot share the download URL.

Any thoughts are appreciated.

Comments

VM’s picture

The private method would be needed.

The trick is to store the files above the public root of you website, where they are inaccessible from the internet, and only accessible from your drupal installation. If done in this manner, then the folder cannot be browsed.

example:

home/public_html/index.php (your drupal installation)
home/public_html/files/ (default installation fiels folder)

you need:

home/files
home/public_html/index.php

After switching to private method, you would have to use a relative path to your files folder which is above the public root. /www/home/files

if you switch to private file system, but leave your files folder inside the public root, than they can be accessed by anyone (and search engines) regardless of private setting.

* paths in these examples are probably not exact for your setup. you will have to investigate your paths.

May want to look into the quickfile.module which may help with selling files.

doka’s picture

Have you found the quickfile module: http://drupal.org/project/quickfile ?

Doka

tdellaringa’s picture