Hi All, I'm pretty new to Drupal so apologies if this problem is just me not understanding something.

I'm trying to use Drupal for a basic CMS. We don't need any community features, it's purely to allow internal people to add/update pages and stories and then have them approved later my the admin.

The problem I have is that I've defined a role where a user can author & edit pages. However those pages are unpublished by default and require an admin user to approve them. That's all good but there are two problems:

1. Once the Author/Editor has made the page, they can't see it to re-edit it until it's approved by the admin.
  2. Once the page has been approved, if the Editor/Author edits the page it is then remarked as unpublished and disappears from the site altogether until it is re-approved by the admin.

Is there any way of allowing the page to be edited but keeping the original version until the admin approves the new one?

Thanks in advance for any ideas!

Comments

bmargulies’s picture

Try turning on the create new version flag by default for pages. We think that this will allow the author to set up a new version for moderation while the old version remains visible.

PixelNurse’s picture

Thanks for the suggestion, it still does the same thing though I'm afraid. I already tried it, just tried again. It does give the useful function of allowing the admin to rollback to the previous revision, but still unpublishes the page completely, both versions.

It seems like a really basic problem with the approval system, I'm surprised more people haven't run into this. Of course it still may be me missing something. It would seem like the only way to do it would be to make a new identical copied page, but the client wouldn't find that acceptable I don't think as they'll have to publish that and unpublish the original.

PixelNurse’s picture