I want to export all records of a given content type to a csv file. I've checked some allready existing stuff to do this but nothing really meets my demands or have functionality I do not wish to add.

I'm new to drupal and made some basic custom modules allready so I also want to make a module that does this from scratch so I learn stuff instead of using pre-made stuff and having no clue whats going on.

When you go to the module you see a dropdown box filled with all the content types in my system (This is working). When I select a content type I want a table with all the records of that content type.

under this table I want a button Export to CSV. when This is pressed a download screen should popup. Im only puzzled on how to make the .CSV file with PHP.

The dropdown list and the generated table is almost working as we speak.

anybody that can help me?

Comments

dman’s picture

Well, if you really think this is easier than using the popular, tested solution then the quick answer is:

Now you put all the data you fetched into a string, separated by commas.
print it, followed by a newline.
Repeat until done.
die();

or, if you want to force a download instead of a screen view, set the HTTP content-type headers to something like "application/text+csv" before starting to print.

... then go back and realize that you probably need to quote your strings before making a CSV.

... continue. There is also a PEAR library that can help, but really, outputting a CSV string is not that hard.
Exactly what bit are you stuck on?

f0ns’s picture

I'm not looking for the easiest way to achieve this, I want to tailor this module for the purpose I need it for.. I also feel like I need to take the time to make this on my own in order to learn more about drupal module development.