In my file upload settings section it says "Your PHP settings limit the maximum file size per upload to 4 MB". What file exactly would i have to edit to fix this to a higher limit? Thanks for any help guys. (im still new to this :) )

Comments

Algirdas’s picture

You have to edit your php.ini file. Or ask your system administrator to do that for you.

henwoodr’s picture

I have GoDaddy as my web hosting company right now. So your saying they have to change this file?

dobe’s picture

OK this may help some noobs as well as the experienced:

For godaddy if you are using php 5 for your website you NEED to change the php.ini file to php5.ini that is located in your base directory. Or create a php5.ini file with the following values:

memory_limit = 96M
post_max_size = 64M
upload_max_filesize = 64M

Second you need to add the following values to the .htaccess file that comes pre packaged with Drupal in your base directory:

memory_limit = 96M
post_max_size = 64M

Third you need to add to the following code to settings.php file that is located in /sites/default/:

ini_set('memory_limit', '96M');
ini_set('post_max_size', '64M');
ini_set('upload_max_filesize', '64M');

As you can see the php values are virtually the same with different syntax.

Hope this helps

VM’s picture

Curious as to why this is being changed in 3 ways. It should only need to be set in one way. If you have access to custom php.ini that's it should require changing.

Making a change in three different files is redundant and would then mean that if you need to make another change it would have to be changed in all three files again.

shababhsiddique’s picture

just did everything you said. i cant upload files larger than a few KB( suppose 50)

I cant even upload through plain php/html code. I created a new folder in my www directory of wamp and created a simple php application to test. THe upload limit was causing same error there.

Internal Server Error