I have a database (which includes an older drupal site) that i want to recover--i have downloaded on my desktop…I think I have to migrate through shell as well.

I am pretty new to this.

Dreamhost tells me that I would have to get support from the drupal community about how to configure the older site. They also say I need to know the version.

main goal: see blog posts and content that are on a database that once used drupal

Comments

JamesOakley’s picture

Hi Drew

Have you used Drupal at all before?

If you have the database and the files, you'll have to alter the settings.php file for your installation to point the Drupal files to the database you've uploaded your old copy into.

If you only have the database, but not the files, you'll have to download the relevant files from drupal.org, unzip them into the correct directories, and then hook up the database as above.

It sounds like you may be in the latter case. If so, you've been told correctly - the first thing to determine is which version of Drupal your database is for. You'd then want to download the most recent minor release of Drupal core, matching the major release for your database. (So, if you find that your database is for Drupal 5.x, you'd want Drupal 5.23, being the latest minor release in the 5.x range). (If it's older than Drupal 5, the numbering is a bit less obvious, but people here can guide you through that particular minefield.)

Depending on how much you've done with Drupal before, and depending on how long you're prepared to spend fiddling and learning as you go, it may be a job you're best off hiring in some help for.

But let's start here: 1. Does your database have a table named "system"? 2. If so, can you paste the results of this query:

SELECT * FROM `system` WHERE name = 'system'

This signature is currently blank
dghavens’s picture

thanks for the reply.

my database is 6.x, so that would be 6.31, right?