I have a huge site I have developed over the last 8 months. It's www.militarychallengecoin.net . I has virtuemart with 600 products, phpBB2 (with 14 mods) as my forum, and obviously joomla with many add-ons. This is my bread and butter and I am also trying to build a seamless community that can be huge. I love all the options I have with Joomla, but I think curiousity has the better side of me with Drupal. How big of a project is migrating this to Drupal? Is it possible the migration will not only make the site better but be able to have basically the same features? I am not a programmer, just know some stuff. I just don't know where to start. Is this a feasible thing to do? I would love to hear opinions.

Adam

Comments

geraldferguson’s picture

I recently did this with a number of Joomla and even old school Mambo sites. It was a royal pain, but well worth it for what I was trying to accomplish. I just couldn't deal with the horrible URL rewriting support and desperately needed something more SEO friendly. Another big reason was that I really wanted something that would output clean, simple, semantic, tableless code(again for SEO reasons).

That said, If you have that many products in VirtueMart, it's going to be a pain transferring them over. I suppose you could do it with a DB script, but I gotta tell you, I haven't been that impressed with Drupal's ecommerce system. It is nice and SEO friendly, but is pretty basic on the backend. That said, I like it's simplicity ont he front-end, there's not 12 steps to do a simple checkout, so your users will appreciate the streamlined process. We currently run PayPal Payments Pro as our gateway on Drupal, and it works well. If you are looking for a more robust cart system, you may want to delay the switch until the Ubercart project is a bit further along.

I'd suggest you get a Drupal instance up and running and manually cut/paste a bit of your content and products just to do a test run.