I need to build a website which can authenticate users, present user specific information drawn from my own MySQL database. And I am trying to decide the best approach.
My understanding is, with wordpress I must have my database tables embedded in the wordpress database, but with Drupal I can use my own database. Is that true?
I can write php code to retrieve data from my own MySQL database but don't have much knowledge about user authentication, CSS, or even complex HTML. Given that, will I be able to accomplish my goal with Drupal? Is there sample project of this kind I can use as template/starting point? Or tutorial specific to this kind of website?
I am a newbie to all CMS and any advice is greatly appreciated.

Comments

nevets’s picture

While you could do that, it begs the question why use Drupal.

It would make more sense if you wanted Drupal to manage the data, as a content, entity or otherwise.

Jaypan’s picture

Trying to force Drupal to work the way you are used to is usually a lot of time, and ends up with a messy system. If you are going to use Drupal, you should learn to use it the way it's meant to be used, then build your system the Drupal way. Otherwise you're better off not even using it.

cltechsol’s picture

I just need to build a website which can authenticate users and display user specific information. I am not sure what is the best approach and searching the internet lead me to wordpress, joomla!, and drupal. If these are not the right approach, any suggestion? Or how should I use drupal the right way to achieve my goal? Thanks.

Jaypan’s picture

Drupal is an extremely powerful tool. But trying to force it to work your way, rather than learning to work the Drupal way, is asking for headaches and frustration.

If you are ready to drop what you think you know, and open your mind to a different way of doing things, Drupal is an extremely powerful tool. Otherwise, I'd avoid it.

cltechsol’s picture