Since a couple of days I am exploring Drupal 8 out of interest, reading "Beginning Drupal 8" and watching the "Drupal 8 Beginner Class" on YouTube. My background is mainly in front-end development, but I know my ways around in PHP, which is certainly not scaring me. While you hear a lot about the "steep learning curve" (probably non-technical users who have never used a CMS before), I don't find the Drupal back-end overly complex or the terminology strange. In fact, I like the circumstance that most of the real CMS-functionality directly ships with the system. In WordPress you would need to install 2-3 plugins to get similar functionality.

Now, I have experience with other systems (WordPress, ProcessWire and a couple of others) and I would like to build a little test project to better learn the system. If find it too boring to build the ordinary brochure style website (for which Drupal is not ideal I think) so I thought about the following. As a functional "proof of concept" and without any design considerations, I would like to develop a simple job board application where registered companies can publish job posts in different categories:

- Companies can register and then access a closed membership area (which should ideally not be the Drupal back-end itself).
- Within the membership area, companies can create a job post in different categories.
- Job posts will be published once a small payment has been made (ideally via PayPal).
- I am not looking for the magic "module job board solution", so I want to get my hands dirty...

My questions:
- Is this feasible for a first project?
- Should you use Drupal to implement a use-case scenario like this?

As I mentioned, I am more interested in the technical implementation at this point rather than the styling / design to really understand
how Drupal works.

Thanks for your advice.

Comments

babipanghang’s picture