Hi - I'm new to Drupal and don't mean to start a war over this.

Curious to hear opinions of why use one or the other of these template engines.

Performance, logical organization of templates, and ease of maintenance are my primary considerations.

Thanks
Graham

Comments

wpd’s picture

There is little difference between the two. The drupal smarty template engine is a copy of the phptemplate.
I use the Smarty version because:
- I do not like php in my templates (I really hate: <?php print $whatever; ?>)
- I and my CSS designer already know smarty
- I do not want my CSS designer writing php ;)

PHPTemplate is more popular with the drupal.org crowd, so some of the documentation assumes you are using that.

White Paper Designs

ardas’s picture

>> The drupal smarty template engine is a copy of the phptemplate.

As I know the main advantage of PHPTemplate is that there is no parser which makes site to load longer and use more memory.
Is there any parser in Smarty as it was in XTemplate ?

wpd’s picture

Smarty compiles the templates the first time they are run into straight PHP files.
After the initial run, it is straight PHP that is run.
I think the performance is comparable after the first run; however, I believe most drupal installs will be limited by the database speed not CPU power. In general, performance is impossible to discuss without specifics.

White Paper Designs

Dublin Drupaller’s picture

interesting discussion.

I'm probably guilty as charged for adding many phptemplate snippets to the handbook, so I'm one of those "drupal.org crowd" people you're talking about, but, what you're saying is an interesting point i.e. for a CSS guy or Graphic designer to embrace Drupal, he/she would probably connect quicker with a smarty based theme, rather than a phptemplate one.