Hello everyone!

I have been reading up on different content management systems that can serve as a sort of portal for social networking/community websites. I have been trying both Joomla and Drupal and have finally decided on Drupal.

Since I am new to Drupal, I dont know what modules would come in handy for the project. I do know that this will require more work than just adding and activating modules. I currently have CCK, OG, Privatemsg, and Views. Otherwise, Im at a stump at what to add. Can you offer any suggestions?

Comments

VM’s picture

modules should not be added just to be added. You simply add features that your community will need or that they ask for. The more modules you add the more taxing a CMS can become on a server. Especially a shared server where ceilings are implemented on the amount of resources you can use.

Start small, work toward big. Too much too soon creates a headache when you have to work backwards. Consider reading up on the social networking group over at groups.drupal.org

Necro768’s picture

I understand, but I want to start out with general features (user profiles, messaging, forums, etc.) and then ask users what they want. My host is lenient in the area of resources for being a shared host and I have the space and bandwith currently to handle a good amount of users. I just want to know what modules will allow me to add the networking features I want.

Ive just gotten MySite going, which seems to offer a good solution for profiles, but its needs a little coding to get the right feel.

AainaalyaA’s picture

I've used Joomla prior it was renamed from Mambo. {Meaning for many years} If Joomla had been an MJ12 agent, it'd have a plethora of aliases as it is. I'm going to write a review on Drupal sometime this week, so I'll not spring a leak too much here.